Division of Criminal Justice Services

  • Loading...

  • Police Officer of the Year

    Domestic Violence Awareness Month

    New York State joins the nation in recognizing October as Domestic Violence Awareness Month. Resources are available to raise awareness. Visit the Online Toolkit »

  • Police Officer of the Year

    Police Officer of the Year

    Three members of the Syracuse Police Department are the recipients of the New York State Police Officer of the Year Award. Read the Press Release »

  • Police Officer Memorial 2019

    Fallen police officers honored

    The Police Officers' Memorial Remembrance Ceremony honored 63 police officers who made the ultimate sacrifice in service to communities across the state. Read the Press Release »

  • Times Union Top Workplace Logo

    DCJS named Top Workplace for third year in a row

    Once again, DCJS is an Albany Times Union Top Workplace, an honor based on the results of an anonymous, voluntary survey of employees.
    Learn More »

  • Books

    Criminal Justice Knowledge Bank

    New website for criminal justice professionals to share promising programs, practices designed to reduce crime and recidivism.
    Read the Press Release »


Do you need to request a
copy of your criminal history?
Here’s what you need to know.

Learn about the Personal Record Review process »

Interested in becoming a security guard? Are you a police or peace officer who wants to enhance your skills? DCJS can help.

Check out training schedules, requirements »

What's New

Touch a heading to see its story.

  • New York’s Raise the Age law now fully implemented

    The second phase of New York State’s Raise the Age law is now in effect, removing 17-year-olds who have committed a criminal act, from the adult criminal justice system as of midnight on Oct. 1, 2019, and placing them in age-appropriate settings where they can receive needed services and treatment to avoid recidivism. The first phase of Raise the Age was implemented one year ago and similarly removed 16-year-olds from the adult criminal justice system. The law also allows individuals who have remained crime-free for 10 years to request that certain New York State convictions be sealed.

    Read Governor Andrew M. Cuomo's press release »

  • Domestic Violence Awareness Month

    October is Domestic Violence Awareness Month in New York State and across the nation. Read Governor Cuomo's proclamation. You can show your support by taking part in "Wear Purple Day" on Thursday, Oct. 24. For more ideas on how you can raise awareness or become an ally for survivors, resources are available through the state Office for the Prevention of Domestic Violence. Visit the online toolkit.

    If you or someone you know needs help, the New York State Domestic & Sexual Violence Hotline (1-800-942-6906) is available 24 hours a day in English, Spanish and other languages. Individuals who are deaf or hard of hearing can call 711.

  • New York State’s SNUG Street Outreach program featured in Translational Criminology magazine

    The Fall 2019 issue of Translational Criminology – the magazine of the Center for Evidence-Based Crime Policy (CEBCP) at George Mason University – features an article on the state Division of Criminal Justice Services’ SNUG program. The magazine is distributed internationally to criminal justice practitioners, researchers and academics, and policy makers.

    The article, titled The Evolution of New York’s SNUG Street Outreach Program, describes the inception and development of the state’s unique program and the role it plays in reducing gun violence and saving lives in 11 communities. Street outreach workers intervene in the aftermath of shootings to prevent retaliation, working with high-risk youth to connect them to services and programs, and engaging communities in their work.

    The same issue includes acceptance remarks made in June 2019 by DCJS Executive Deputy Commissioner Mike Green after he was one of two individuals to receive the Center’s highest honor: its Distinguished Achievement Award. His remarks highlight the state’s investment in SNUG and other evidence-based initiatives. Read the press release for more details about the award.

  • Internet Safety Presentations Now Available

    The New York State Missing Persons Clearinghouse at DCJS now offers two presentations designed to help children learn the fundamentals of online safety.

    Geared toward children in grades 5 and 6 and 7 through 9, the 40-minute presentations teach safe and responsible practices, how to use those skills and encourage students to keep their parents and teachers informed about what they are doing online. There is no cost for the presentation.

    To schedule a presentation, complete this Internet Safety Presentation Request Form. For more information, please contact the Missing Persons Clearinghouse: missingpersons@dcjs.ny.gov or call 1-800-346-3543 (Option 1).

  • Remembrance ceremony honors 63 fallen police officers

    Governor Andrew M. Cuomo recently honored 63 police officers who made the ultimate sacrifice in service to communities across New York State. The officers from eight local and state law enforcement agencies were recognized at the annual Police Officers' Memorial Remembrance Ceremony in Albany.

    With the addition of the names of the 54 men and nine women - the most ever honored in one year - the memorial now includes the names of 1,567 police officers.

    Read the Press Release »

  • Criminal Justice Knowledge Bank

    The Criminal Justice Knowledge Bank allows police, prosecutors and probation professionals to share promising and innovative programs and practices designed to reduce crime and recidivism.

    The site also features links to national criminal justice resources and information about the Criminal Justice Research Consortium, which connects these professionals with academics across the state to research and develop evidence-based approaches to address specific public safety issues in their communities.

  • Pro Bono Clemency Program

    To assist individuals in applying for clemency, Governor Andrew M. Cuomo is partnering with several organizations from the legal community to provide free clemency petition services to individuals incarcerated by the New York State Department of Corrections and Community Supervision.

    Although individuals may apply for clemency without the assistance of an attorney, free assistance from one will enhance the quality of an inmate’s application and present his or her best case to the Governor. Please contact PardonsAndCommutations@doccs.ny.gov to learn more about this program.

    Learn More About Clemency »