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DWI HISTORY IN NEW YORK

• STOP-DWI or Special Traffic Options Program–• STOP-DWI  or Special Traffic Options Program–
Driving While Intoxicated” Program established 
in NY in 1981 by the State Legislature

• Program is a financially self-sustaining impaired 
driving program 

• Program components in law enforcement• Program components in law enforcement, 
prosecution, probation, rehabilitation, education 
and public information. 
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KEY LEGISLATION

• 1982 – Legal drinking age raised to 191982 Legal drinking age raised to 19
• 1986 – Legal drinking age raised to 21
• 1988 – Repeat offender administrative license 

revocation law implemented
• 1990 – NY State Police begin first toll-free drunk 

driver reporting hotline in the USp g
• 1994 – Administrative license revocation law 

expanded to include all alcohol offenders’ driving 
privileges suspended pending prosecution

KEY LEGISLATION

• 1996 Zero Tolerance law for underage• 1996 – Zero-Tolerance law for underage 
youth (0.02 BAC) enacted

• 2003 – 0.08 BAC law enacted
• 2006 – Aggravated DWI law passed for 

BAC’s at or above 0.18 BAC and repeat C C p
offenders – penalties strengthened to 
include ignition interlock
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KEY LEGISLATION
• 2007 – Legislation enacted creating the crimes of 007 eg s at o e acted c eat g t e c es o

aggravated vehicular assault and aggravated vehicular 
homicide

• November 18, 2009 – LEANDRA’S LAW  
– Felony for any DWI conviction with a child 16 or under 

in the vehicle   (December 18, 2009) 
– Mandatory ignition interlock for a minimum of 6 

months for all misdemeanor and felony DWI 
convictions   (August 15, 2010)   

Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

• Metrics--DWI Convictions in New York StateMetrics DWI Convictions in New York State
• 2008 Data 

– 65,000 arrests for DWI (consistent over years) 
– 25,000 convictions (felony and misdemeanor)
– 20,000 violations (DWAI)

–25 000 convictions (felony and misdemeanor)25,000 convictions (felony and misdemeanor)
9,000 (40%) sentenced to probation 

16,000 (60%) other dispositions including prison, jail and large 
majority pay fine 
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Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State
• Binge Drinking—Nearly one in four high school students 

d i d lt bi d i k di t th CDCand one in seven adults binge-drink according to the CDC 
Director Thomas Freidman

• 428,000 people who responded to two surveys used to 
compile the data said they had an average of eight (8) 
drinks during a binge drinking session

• CDC found that 15% of adults or 33 million Americans 
binge-drink—a constant rate for 15 yrs

• Binge Drinking is defined as a male drinking 7 
drinks/female drinking 5 drinks continuously to 
intoxication of BAC .08 
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Fatalities Leveled Off
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Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

• Governor David A Paterson signs Chapter 496 of theGovernor David  A. Paterson signs Chapter 496 of the 
Laws of 2009 : 
– Effective December 18, 2009-New section VTL §1192-2a(b)
– New Class E Felony Offense-Enhanced Penalties for Persons who 

Operate a Motor Vehicle while Intoxicated with a Child passenger 
under 16 years of age, with penalty of up to 4 years in state prison

– Also enhances penalties for driving while intoxicated and causing 
th d th i i j t hild ( ) d 16the death or serious injury to any child (ren) passenger under 16 
years of age.  Operators convicted of Aggravated Vehicular 
Assault (Class C Felony) and Aggravated Vehicular Homicide 
(Class B Felony) offenses are subject to state imprisonment up to 
15 and 25 years imprisonment, respectively. 
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Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

– Effective August 15, 2010-VTL§1198 amends VTL § 1192(2), 
(2a), or (3) 

• Requires that persons convicted of having committed VTL 
Section 1192 Misdemeanor or Felony DWI Offenses, on or 
after the date of enactment, (November 18, 2009 ) and 
sentenced on or after August 15, 2010, be sentenced to a term 

f b i di i l di h i ddi iof probation or conditional discharge, in addition to any 
sentence of imprisonment or payment of any fine imposed, and
have an Ignition Interlock Device  installed in any motor 
vehicle they “own or operate” .  Law requires that the IID be 
installed for a minimum of six months.
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Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

• VTL §1198 (9)(a)—Classs A Misdemeanor—no person whose driving § ( )( ) p g
privilege is restricted to operate a motor vehicle only with an IID, 
pursuant to the VTL or PL, shall not request, solicit, or allow any other 
person to blow into an IID

• VTL §1198(9)(b)—Class A Misdemeanor—no person shall blow into 
an IID or start a motor vehicle equipped with an IID for the purpose of 
providing an operable motor vehicle to a person whose driving 
privilege is so restricted

• VTL §1198 (9)(c)—Class A Misdemeanor—No person shall tamper 
with or circumvent an otherwise operable IID

• VTL §1198 (9)(d)—Class A Misdemeanor—No person subject to a 
court ordered IID shall operate a motor vehicle without such a device
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Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

– New York State joins 9 other states as “first offender states”  j
requiring mandatory use of Ignition Interlock  Devices

– Alcohol Ignition Interlocks are a proven tool to effectively   
reduce impaired driving, protect the public and support long-term 
risk  reduction among drunk drivers—93% compliance  
Numerous Studies including those by The Traffic Injury 
Research Foundation, February 2010

– Research indicates that offender behavior reverts when the IID is 
removed—longer periods of time for IID 

– Encourage Court ordered conditions for use of ignition interlock 
devices for longer periods of time

–
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Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

• Statute requires OPCA to promulgate regulations andStatute requires OPCA to promulgate regulations and  
address “unaffordability”  (270-day timeframe)
Chapter 496 Section 5 
(a) The cost of installing  and  maintaining  the  ignition  interlock
device shall be borne by the person subject to such condition unless the
court  determines  such person is financially unable to afford such cost
whereupon such cost may be imposed pursuant to a payment plan or waived.
In the event of such waiver the cost of the device shall be borne inIn  the  event  of such waiver, the cost of the device shall be borne in
accordance with regulations issued under paragraph  (g)  of  subdivision
one  of  section eleven hundred ninety-three of this article or pursuant
to such other agreement as may be entered  into  for  provision  of  the device. 
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Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

– Establish statewide workgroup
– Plan and conduct manufacturer roundtable
– Promulgate statewide regulations –9 NYCRR Part 358 
– Request for Applications—open and continuous
– *Require county planning process/define stakeholders
– Develop statewide uniform templates/forms 

I l t t t id t i i f j di i t– Implement statewide training of judiciary, prosecutors 
and law enforcement

– Establish media campaign and press conference
– Develop statewide monitoring reports 
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Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

Who are the statewide stakeholders?  Working Group?
– Governor Legislature JudiciaryGovernor, Legislature, Judiciary 
– Counties/Agencies—Probation, STOP-DWI, DDP, TASC, etc. 
– Prosecutors and Defense Counsel
– Law Enforcement-NYSP, Sheriffs, Police
– Statewide Associations—NYSAC, STOP-DWI Coordinators, 
– NYS Drinking Driver Programs, Traffic Safety Programs 
– State Agencies—Governor’s Counsel, DOH, DMV, OGS, OSC, 

OAG, OASAS, DCJS, Parole, DOCS, DOB
– ITSMR-Institute for Traffic Safety Management and Research
– Ignition Interlock Device Manufacturers
– Motor Vehicle Operators and the Public
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Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

County Planning Process--regulations require counties toCounty Planning Process regulations require counties to 
submit implementation plans by June 15, 2010

• Define required local/county stakeholders in county plan application
• Designate monitoring agency for CD cases (default is probation)
• Acknowledge agreement with statewide regulations: monitoring agencies for 

CD cases to determine Class of Instrument; probation to determine Class and 
features;  and operators to select model and manufacturer of IID

• Procedure for equitable distribution of “waived” IID unitsocedu e o equ tab e d st but o o wa ved u ts
• Procedure for distribution of any available funding to support monitoring 
• Court notification to monitoring agencies within 5 business days
• Procedure for advanced notification of operators released from incarceration
• Procedure for monitors to report failed tasks/tests/lockouts to DA and Courts
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Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

• Request for Manufacturer Applications
Compliance with DPCA and Department of Health RegulationsCompliance with DPCA and Department of Health Regulations 

(DPCA regulations include IID Specifications)
Service 1-4 regions within NYS (consistent with COPA regions) 

—regional approach attracts multiple vendors and new vendors, 
ensuring  a quality product and service at a competitive price 
(affordability)

Classify ignition interlock devices into 3 categories
Establish initial fee structure ceiling —competition drives pricingEstablish initial fee structure ceiling —competition drives pricing
Enter into multi-year (3-year) agreements with manufacturers
Obligate manufacturers to provide Court ordered “payment plans” 

or  IID’s to operators deemed unable to afford them —assume 
10% statewide “unaffordability” rate (not legal indigency)  
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Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York S

• Multiple Manufacturers to serve 25 000 offendersMultiple Manufacturers to serve 25,000 offenders
– Importantly, State Regulations provide that Operators 

will shop manufacturer (model) but probation and 
monitoring agencies will determine the class of ignition 
interlock device and probation will determine class and 
features 
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Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

IID classified into three (3) distinct classes: ( )
• CLASS I: This CLASS contains the following features:

– Meets all New York State Department of Health and National 
Highway Traffic Safety Administration Regulations and 
Standards,  Utilizes fuel cell technology,

• Reporting capabilities,  Capabilities for storage of data, Programmable Re-Test 
Sequences, Data download, inspection and re-calibration service, and

• Anti-tampering and anti-circumvention features.
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Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

• CLASS II: This CLASS has all the features of CLASS I and contains the 
following additional features:

• Photographic positive identification capability (camera or biometric facial 
recognition).

• CLASS III: This CLASS has all the features of CLASSES I and II and 
contains one or more of the following additional features:

• GPS location of vehicle capability,  Real time data reporting, Infra-red or other 
low-light camera capability for night use, Hum Tone Detection, Infra-red 
sensor that detects heat and proximity to verify human breath Keys enablingsensor that detects heat and proximity to verify human breath, Keys enabling 
service codes to be entered, Early recall system if a fuel cell fails-uses split cell 
technology, Restricted drive time capabilities, Unlock code to minimize 
towing due to lockouts, Voice instruction, Probation/Judicial Internet Access 
for Real-Time Monitoring 24/7, 911 Emergency Response, target tracking,  
subject must be in photo to take test.
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Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State
DPCA Regulations require manufacturer IID specifications:
• IID set point of .025% BAC
• Start-Up Test: if failure--a Start-Up Retest within 5-15 minutes (continues)
• Start-Up Test: if successful--Initial Rolling Test within a random variable 

interval ranging from 5-15 mins.  If Rolling Test successful: subsequent Rolling 
Tests at random intervals not to exceed 30 mins.  If unsuccessful (failed or 
missed Rolling Test): Rolling Retest promptly within 1-3 minutes.  Failed or 
missed Rolling Retest causes vehicle horn to sound & and IID to emit high pitch 
shrill prompting operator to pull over and shut off vehicle.  

• IID lockout mode: one failed or missed “start-up retest”, one failed or missed oc out ode: o e a ed o ssed sta t up etest , o e a ed o ssed
“rolling retest” within one service period, or one missed service visit.  Operator 
must return to service center for data download and IID reset within 5 business 
days or the motor vehicle becomes inoperable (will not start)

• All events, including failed start-up tests, failed rolling tests are recorded and 
reported to monitors.  Lockout mode: monitors must report to DA and Court
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Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

DPCA Regulations requirements for monitoring:
• Monitor shall receive court notification of order for IID within 5Monitor shall receive court notification of order for IID within 5 

business days
• Installation/service provider shall install within 7 business days of 

request—Operators required to have IID installed w/in 10 business days 
of Court Order

• Operator shall provide proof of installation within 3 business days to 
Court, County Probation Department and any designated monitor

• Operator shall submit to service visits within 30 calendar days For• Operator shall submit to service visits within 30 calendar days.   For 
detachable handheld units, submit to 30-day visits, followed by 60-day 
visits
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Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

Monitor shall notify the appropriate court and districtMonitor shall notify the appropriate court and district 
attorney, within 3 business days of following: 

• 1) operator failure to install IDD, 
• 2) operator has not complied with required service visit, 
• 3) any report of alleged tampering or circumvention of 

IDD, or 
• 4) any report of lockout mode, and/or any report of a failed 

test or retest where BAC is .05% or higher
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Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

• “Unaffordability” v. Indigency
OPCA develops statewide Financial Disclosure Report available at– OPCA develops statewide Financial Disclosure Report available at 
www.dpca.state.ny.us (English and Spanish Versions) 

– Operator /Applicant required to complete/submit 3 copies to court
– FDR Form captures offender’s income, assets and expenses, 

including monthly service for cell phone, cable/satellite television
– Progression of Cost Considerations: Affordability>>>> 

Payment Plan>>>> Waiver Considerations
– Manufacturers agreements with NYS-OPCA assume a maximum of 

10% statewide rate of “unaffordability” before renegotiation is 
considered—discuss experiences in other states
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Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

• Monitoring and Offender Accountability –Touchstone ofMonitoring and Offender Accountability Touchstone of 
Effective Ignition Interlock Programs --Harm Reduction

• Impact on Localities for Monitoring and Supervision
• OPCA applies to NYS Governor’s Traffic Safety Committee 

(GTSC) and receives $3 million in NHTSA funds 
• Start Date 10/1/10  
• NHTSA funds to be distributed to localities based on number 

of convictions where IID is ordered and installed 
• Grant term: 1, 2010-Sept. 30, 2011
• Federal Funds regarded as seed money and not sustaining
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Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

• Thank you.  Questions and Answers?
• Contact Information:

– Robert M. Maccarone
Deputy Commissioner and Director
NYS Division of Criminal Justice ServicesNYS Division of Criminal Justice Services
Office of Probation and Correctional Alternatives
(518) 485-7692
Robert.Maccarone@dcjs.state.ny.us


