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Recent Changes to New York State
Laws Governing Juvenile

Fingerprinting and Record Use

Several procedural changes accompany the recent amendments to State laws governing
juvenile fingerprinting and record use. 

• Fingerprintable offenses for 13 to 15 year olds were expanded to include all felony
offenses  (FCA §306.1).  This amendment strengthens the State’s ability to track the
delinquent activity of juveniles who commit serious crimes.

•   DCJS must now destroy appropriate juvenile records upon receipt of a disposition
notification from the family court clerk rather than a court order directing record destruction
as previously required (FCA §354.1).  Similarly, local agencies must now seal juvenile case
files based on disposition notification from the family court clerk  (FCA §375.1).  This
amendment will prevent delays in record destruction and sealing.

•    DCJS may no longer disseminate a juvenile arrest record on a rap sheet if the disposition
information has not been reported within two years of the arrest date (FCA §354.1).  This
provision protects against the disclosure of arrest information that would have been
destroyed if a disposition favorable to the respondent had been reported to DCJS.  

As of December 1, 1996, Chapter 645 of the Laws of 1996 is available through the DCJS 
INTERNET homepage:
http://criminaljustice.state.ny.us.

  



Understanding
Juvenile Fingerprinting:

Procedures and Record Use

Effective November 1, 1996, the Family Court Act (FCA §306.1) specifies that, following the arrest
of a child alleged to be a juvenile delinquent, law enforcement agencies in New York State must
fingerprint:

•  Juveniles 13 to 15 years of age charged with any felony offense (Class A, B, C, D or E), and

•  Juveniles 11 to 12 years of age charged with a Class A or B felony offense.

Along with the juvenile’s fingerprints, certain personal identifier and arrest information must be
recorded on the juvenile fingerprint card and the attached “stub” (OCA 501 J).  When a juvenile is
charged at arrest as a Juvenile Offender (JO), this information must be recorded on both adult and
juvenile fingerprint cards (DCJS-2 and DCJS-2 JD, respectively) and on the Federal Bureau of
Investigation (FBI) fingerprint card.

  The fingerprints must be immediately forwarded to the State’s central repository
for fingerprints -- DCJS.

The New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS) is the State’s central repository for
juvenile and adult fingerprint records.  Upon taking a juvenile’s fingerprints, agencies must forward
the original juvenile and, when taken, the adult and FBI fingerprint cards to DCJS without
unnecessary delay.  The FBI card is then forwarded to the FBI.  The police cannot retain the original
fingerprints or copies of those prints [FCA §306.1(4)].
 
Outside New York City, the stub, along with other relevant information, is forwarded to the agency
where processing of the juvenile’s case continues. 

  DCJS must provide the arresting agency with information on any pending arrests
and prior juvenile delinquency adjudications for the fingerprinted juvenile.

Juvenile fingerprints, along with offender and arrest information from the fingerprint card, are stored
in DCJS’s Computerized Criminal History (CCH) data base.  

DCJS must search this data base for any information it has concerning a juvenile delinquency
adjudication, adult conviction, or pending matter for the fingerprinted juvenile.  DCJS must then
promptly transmit a report -- commonly referred to as a “rap sheet” -- to the arresting agency with the
results of this search.

DCJS also searches its data bases containing missing person fingerprints and crime scene
fingerprints.



  Copies of the rap sheet must be shared with other appropriate agencies.

Upon receiving the rap sheet, the arresting agency must promptly transmit two copies to the family
court and two copies to the presentment agency [FCA §306.2(3)].  In turn, the presentment agency
must furnish a copy of the rap sheet to the juvenile’s law guardian or counsel.  The probation
department may request a copy of the rap sheet from DCJS for the purpose of preparing a pre-
disposition report ordered by the court (FCA §351.1).

  Outside New York City, the agency terminating the processing of a case in which
fingerprints have been taken must record the case disposition on the fingerprint card
stub and forward it to DCJS.

The agency that terminates the processing of a case must record how the case was disposed on the
fingerprint card stub and then forward the stub to DCJS.  New York City is excluded from this
reporting
process because its disposition data are submitted via a computer interface with DCJS.

The stub of the fingerprint card is the only mechanism DCJS has to secure disposition data for cases
outside New York City.  The stub must be completed and returned to DCJS by:

•  A law enforcement agency that does not refer a case for further legal processing;

•  A probation department that adjusts a case at intake;

•  A presentment agency that declines to file a petition in family court; or

•  A family court when it disposes of a juvenile delinquency case.  The court must also provide DCJS
with the adjudication charge and disposition (type, length and date) when a finding of juvenile
delinquency is entered.

  DCJS must destroy a juvenile arrest record when the case outcome is favorable to
the respondent or when the most serious adjudication charge is not among those
specified for record retention. 

A disposition is updated to DCJS’s CCH data base and the fingerprints are retained when a juvenile
delinquency finding is entered and  --

•  The adjudication charges include a felony offense and the juvenile was 13 to 15 years old when the
fingerprintable offense was committed; or  

•  The adjudication charges include a Class A or B felony offense and the juvenile was 11 to 12 years
old when the fingerprintable offense was committed (FCA §354.1).  

Upon receiving notification that a case has been disposed in any other manner than specified above,
DCJS must destroy all records in its possession that pertain to the case.  In such instances, arresting



agencies must also destroy any records in their possession obtained pursuant to FCA §306.1.

  The permanent retention status of adjudication records is usually determined
when a youth reaches 21 years of age.

The adjudication record becomes a permanent part of a youth’s adult criminal history record if he or
she is subsequently convicted of a crime that occurs before his or her 21st birthday [FCA§ 354.1(7)]. 
If no such criminal event occurs, the juvenile delinquency records must be destroyed forthwith when
a youth reaches the age of 21, provided he or she has been discharged from placement for at least
three years.

   It is important that local agencies make every effort to comply with their
mandated reporting responsibilities.

The Family Court Act requires arresting agencies to forward juvenile fingerprints to DCJS.  It also
requires probation departments [FCA §308.1(12)] and law enforcement agencies, presentment
agencies and family courts (FCA §354.1) to submit case disposition information to DCJS upon
terminating the processing of a juvenile delinquency case.  

The failure of arresting agencies to submit fingerprints impedes the State’s ability to track the
delinquent activity of juveniles who commit serious crimes.  When dispositions are not reported, rap
sheets lack juvenile delinquency adjudication information that may be important for determining
appropriate interventions.

Printed: November 1996
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TEXT
LAWS OF NEW YORK, 1996

CHAPTER 645
AN ACT to amend the family court act and the executive law, in

relation to juvenile fingerprinting
Became a law September 13, 1996, with the approval of the Governor. 

Passed on message of necessity pursuant to Article III, section
14 of the Constitution by a majority vote, three-fifths being
present.

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK, REPRESENTED IN SENATE AND 
ASSEMBLY, DO ENACT AS FOLLOWS:
  Section 1. Subdivision 1 of section 306.1 of the family court act,
as added by chapter 920 of the laws of 1982, is amended to read as
follows:
  1. Following the arrest of a child alleged to be a juvenile
delinquent, or the filing of a delinquency petition involving a child
who has not been arrested,  the arresting officer or other appropriate
police officer or agency shall take or cause to be taken fingerprints
of such child if:
  (a)  the child is eleven years of age or older and the crime which
is the subject of the arrest or which is charged in the petition
constitutes a class A or B felony; or
  (b) the child is thirteen years of age or older and the crime which
is the  subject of the arrest or which is charged in the petition
constitutes a class C, D OR E felony.
  § 2. Subdivision 2 of section 306.2 of the family court act, as
added by chapter 920 of the laws of 1982, is amended to read as
follows:
  2. Upon receipt of such fingerprints, the division of criminal
justice services  shall classify them and search its records for
information concerning an  adjudication or pending matter involving
the person arrested.  The division shall promptly transmit to such
forwarding officer or agency a report containing any information on
file with respect to such person's previous adjudications and pending
matters or a report stating that the person arrested has no previous
record according to its files.  NOTWITHSTANDING THE FOREGOING, WHERE
THE  DIVISION HAS NOT RECEIVED DISPOSITION INFORMATION WITHIN TWO
YEARS OF AN ARREST, THE DIVISION SHALL, UNTIL SUCH INFORMATION OR
UP-TO-DATE STATUS INFORMATION IS RECEIVED, WITHHOLD THE RECORD OF THAT
ARREST AND ANY RELATED ACTIVITY IN DISSEMINATING CRIMINAL HISTORY
INFORMATION.
  § 3. Subdivisions 2, 6 and 7 of section 354.1 of the family court
act, as  added by chapter 920 of the laws of 1982, are amended to read
as follows:

EXPLANATION--Matter in UPPER CASE is new; matter in brackets {    } is
old law to be omitted.



  2. If a person whose fingerprints, palmprints or photographs were
taken  pursuant to section 306.1 or was initially fingerprinted as a
juvenile offender and the action is subsequently removed to family
court pursuant to article seven hundred twenty-five of the criminal
procedure law has had all petitions disposed of by the family court in
any manner other than an adjudication of juvenile delinquency for a
felony, but in the case of acts committed when such person was eleven
or twelve years of age which would constitute a class A or B felony
only,  {the  family court shall enter an order directing that} all
such fingerprints, palmprints, photographs, and copies thereof, and
all information relating to such allegations obtained by the division
of criminal  justice  services pursuant to  section 306.1 shall be
destroyed forthwith.  {Such order shall be served by the} THE clerk of
the court {upon} SHALL NOTIFY the commissioner of the division of
criminal justice services and {upon} the heads of all police
departments and law  enforcement agencies having copies of such
records, who shall {implement the order} DESTROY SUCH RECORDS without
unnecessary delay.
  6. If a person fingerprinted pursuant to section 306.1 and
subsequently adjudicated a juvenile delinquent for a felony, but in
the case of acts  committed when such a person was eleven or twelve
years of age which would constitute a class A or B felony only, is
subsequently convicted of a crime, all fingerprints and related
information obtained by the division of criminal justice services
pursuant to such section and not destroyed pursuant to subdivisions
two, five and seven or subdivision {eleven} TWELVE of section 308.1
shall become part of such division's permanent adult criminal record
for that person,  notwithstanding section 381.2 or 381.3.
  7. When a person fingerprinted pursuant to section 306.1 and
subsequently adjudicated a juvenile delinquent for a felony, but in
the case of acts  committed when such person was eleven or twelve
years of age which would constitute a class A or B felony only,
reaches the age of twenty-one, or has been discharged from placement
under this act for at least three years, whichever  occurs later, and
has no criminal convictions or pending criminal actions which
ultimately terminate in a criminal conviction, all fingerprints,
palmprints,  photographs, and related information and copies thereof
obtained pursuant to section 306.1 in the possession of the division
of criminal justice services, any  police department, law enforcement
agency or any other agency shall be destroyed forthwith.  The division
of criminal justice services shall notify the agency or agencies which
forwarded fingerprints to such division pursuant to section {806.1}
306.1 of their obligation to destroy those records in their
possession.  In the case of a pending criminal action which does not
terminate in a criminal conviction, such records shall be destroyed
forthwith upon such determination.
  § 4. Subdivision 1 of section 375.1 of the family court act, as
separately  amended by chapters 105 and 423 of the laws of 1987, is
amended to read as follows:
  1. Upon termination of a delinquency proceeding against a respondent
in favor of such respondent, unless the presentment agency upon
written motion with not less than eight days notice to such respondent
demonstrates to the satisfaction of the court that the interests of



justice require otherwise or the court on its own motion with not less
than eight days notice to such respondent determines that the interest
of justice require otherwise and states the reason for such 
determination on the record, {the court shall enter an order which}
THE CLERK OF THE COURT shall immediately {be served by the clerk of
court upon} NOTIFY the law guardian or counsel for the child, the
director of the appropriate presentment  agency, and {upon} the heads
of the appropriate probation department and police  department or
other law enforcement agency, {directing} that THE PROCEEDING HAS
TERMINATED IN FAVOR OF THE RESPONDENT AND, UNLESS THE COURT HAS
DIRECTED  OTHERWISE, THAT THE RECORDS OF SUCH ACTION OR PROCEEDING,
OTHER THAN THOSE DESTROYED PURSUANT TO SECTION 354.1 OF THIS ACT,
SHALL BE SEALED. UPON RECEIPT OF SUCH NOTIFICATION all official
records and papers, including judgments and orders of the court, but
not including public court decisions or opinions or records and briefs
on appeal, relating to the arrest, the prosecution and the probation
service proceedings, including all duplicates or copies thereof, on
file with the court, police agency, probation service and presentment
agency SHALL be sealed and not made available to any person or public
or private agency.  Such records shall remain sealed during the
pendency of any motion made pursuant to this subdivision.
  § 5. Subdivision 6 of section 837 of the executive law, as added by
chapter  399 of the laws of 1972 and such section as renumbered by
chapter 603 of the laws of 1973, is amended to read as follows:
  6. Establish, through electronic data processing and related
procedures, a  central data facility with a communication network
serving qualified agencies anywhere in the state, so that they may,
upon such terms and conditions as the commissioner, and the
appropriate officials of such qualified agencies shall  agree,
contribute information and, EXCEPT AS PROVIDED IN SUBDIVISION TWO OF
SECTION 306.2 OF THE FAMILY COURT ACT, have access to information
contained in  the central data facility, which shall include but not
be limited to such information as criminal record, personal appearance
data, fingerprints,  photographs, and handwriting samples;
  § 6. This act shall take effect immediately and sections two, three,
four and five of this act shall apply retroactively to a person whose
fingerprints were  taken pursuant to section 306.1 of the family court
act or who was initially fingerprinted as a juvenile offender on or
after January 1, 1986 and whose fingerprints are on file with the
division of criminal justice services, provided that in the case of a
juvenile offender action the case was subsequently removed to family
court; and provided, further, that section one of this act shall take
effect on the first day of November next succeeding the date on which
it shall have become a law.
The Legislature of the STATE OF NEW YORK SS:  (JURAT PLACEHOLDER)
  Pursuant to the authority vested in us by section 70-b of the Public
Officers Law, we hereby jointly certify that this slip copy of this
session law was printed under our direction and, in accordance with
such section, is entitled to be read into evidence.
   JOSEPH L. BRUNO                            SHELDON SILVER
TEMPORARY PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE       SPEAKER OF THE ASSEMBLY
-------------------------------------------------------------------


