Division of Criminal Justice Services

About/Contact DCJS  Current Press Releases  Archived Press Releases  Open Meetings/Webcasts

For immediate release: Tuesday, May 10, 2011
PR #7 - 2011

New York State Police Officers’ Memorial Fact Sheet

  • Fifteen police officers from across New York State – including two who died in the line of duty in 2010 – are being honored today during the state’s annual Police Officers Memorial Remembrance Ceremony at the Empire State Plaza in Albany.
  • With the addition of these 15 officers, the memorial now honors 1,297 fallen officers. There are 135 police agencies statewide and five federal agencies represented on the polished black granite memorial.
  • Officers’ names are placed randomly on the memorial wall without rank, to signify that every officer’s sacrifice is the same. The memorial is divided into 12 panels lettered (A - L) at the base of the wall from right to left. Each panel is divided in half and identified as either top or bottom.
  • The memorial’s Roll of Honor is posted to the New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services website: http://www.criminaljustice.ny.gov/ops/docs/pomc/honorroll.pdf
    • To locate a fallen officer, find the officer’s name in the Roll of Honor and then read to the far right to determine the panel section.
  • The following officers will be honored today:
    • Trooper Jill E. Mattice, New York State Police.
      • Trooper Mattice was killed when her patrol vehicle collided with a tractor trailer on Route 23 in the town of Morris, Otsego County (Jan. 20, 2010). She is the first female New York State Trooper killed in the line of duty since the agency’s inception in 1917.
    • Detective Michael Perry, White Plains Department of Public Safety
      • Detective Perry died after struggling with a larceny suspect, who punched him in the chest, causing his death (June 12, 2010).
  • The following members of the New York City Police Department died of Ground Zero-related illnesses:
    • Sergeant Alex W. Baez (Nov. 22, 2008)
    • Officer Frank M. Bolusi (Jan. 12, 2010)
    • Detective Corey J. Diaz (Oct. 7, 2009)
    • Inspector Donald G. Feser (Sept. 12, 2009)
    • Officer Robert C. Grossman (Oct. 9, 2009)
    • Officer Richard Jakubowsky (June 7, 2009)
    • Lieutenant Carlos J. Ocasio (Nov. 21, 2009)
    • Officer Robert V. Oswain (May 15, 2010)
    • Officer Robert A. Zane Jr. (May 12, 2009)
  • The following member of the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey Police Department also died of a Ground Zero-related illness:
    • Officer John M. Cortazzo (March 14, 2009)
  • In addition, three “historical” deaths will be recognized:
    • Officer Thomas W. Clark of the Rochester Police Department
      • Officer Clark succumbed to a heart attack after participating in a K-9 agility training course (Jan. 17, 2006).
    • Trooper Thomas Leo Corbett of the New York State Police (Troop A/Batavia)
      • Trooper Corbett died after suffering debilitating injuries in a patrol vehicle accident two years earlier (Aug. 13, 1933).
    • Officer Joseph F. Brassard, Troy Police Department
      • Officer Brassard died after suffering a heart attack, precipitated by a violent struggle with a combative suspect (June 17, 1972).
  • The memorial was designed by the OGS Design and Construction Group based on a design concept submitted by Colleen Dillon Bergman, daughter of State Trooper Emerson J. Dillon Jr., who was killed in the line of duty in 1974 after more than 16 years of service with the New York State Police.
    • A quote from Mrs. Bergman's letter is engraved on the nameplate wall: "It doesn't matter from which department they came, the feeling of loss is experienced the same."
  • Criteria for inclusion on the Memorial: the individual must have held the position of a police officer as defined in §1.20(34) of the New York State Criminal Procedure Law, or have held the position of federal law enforcement officer and performed the same or essentially similar duties as those performed by a police officer as defined in §1.20(34) of the New York State Criminal Procedure Law.


Contact: John Caher, Press Office
New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services
(518) 457-8415 or (518) 225-5240 – cell