## New York State Sex Offender Registry Annual Report 2013

This report is submitted to the Governor and the Legislature pursuant to Correction Law 168-p (4).

The New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS) is currently mandated to operate a special telephone number (often referred to as the "1-800 line") pursuant to New York State Correction Law §168-p that members of the public may call, free of charge, to inquire as to whether or not a person is on the State's Sex Offender Registry. If the individual does appear on the Registry, then the statute prescribes what information can be released depending on the risk level assigned to the offender. The service is currently staffed by Registry employees from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.; calls made at other times are handled by the DCJS Customer Contact Center.

The 1-800 line serves the general public and businesses. It is estimated that approximately 70 percent of the calls received on the 1-800 line are from businesses, which can include potential employers and volunteer groups who are screening applicants; therefore about 30 percent of the calls are from private citizens.

800# REPORT §168-p(4)	
800 Number Phone Call Requests Processed	38,703
800 Number Searches Completed	163,933
800 Searches Submitted Electronically	1,559
800 Searches Completed Electronically	687,919
800 Number Affirmative Responses	1,549
800 Number Negative Responses	162,384
Average length of call	2.01
Total number of minutes	79,713
Cost per minute	.045
Total cost	\$3,587.09
Total Registry	36,572