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DWI History in New York State 

• STOP-DWI or Special Traffic Options Program–• STOP-DWI  or Special Traffic Options Program–
Driving While Intoxicated” Program established 
in NY in 1981 by the State Legislature

• Program is a financially self-sustaining impaired 
driving program 

• PROGRAM COMPONENTS: Law Enforcement• PROGRAM COMPONENTS: Law Enforcement, 
Prosecution, Probation, Rehabilitation, Education 
and Public Information, Administration
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DWI Legislation in New York State

• 1982 – Legal drinking age raised to 191982 Legal drinking age raised to 19
• 1986 – Legal drinking age raised to 21
• 1988 – Repeat offender administrative license 

revocation law implemented
• 1990 – NY State Police begin first toll-free drunk 

driver reporting hotline in the USp g
• 1994 – Administrative license revocation law 

expanded to include all alcohol offenders’ driving 
privileges suspended pending prosecution

DWI Legislation in New York State

• 1996 – Zero-Tolerance law for underage youth• 1996 – Zero-Tolerance law for underage youth 
(0.02 BAC) enacted

• 2003 – 0.08 BAC law enacted (from .10 BAC)
• 2006 – Aggravated DWI law passed for BAC’s at 

or above 0.18 BAC and repeat offenders –
penalties strengthened to include ignition interlockpenalties strengthened to include ignition interlock

• 2007 – Legislation enacted creating the crimes of 
aggravated vehicular assault and aggravated 
vehicular homicide
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Implementing “Leandra’s Law” in NYS 

• Governor David  A. Paterson signs Chapter 496 of the 
L f 2009Laws of 2009 : 
– Effective December 18, 2009-
– New Class E Felony Offense-Enhanced Penalties for Persons who 

Operate a Motor Vehicle while Intoxicated with a Child passenger 
under 16 years of age, with penalty of up to 4 years in state prison
(December 18, 2009 –March 11, 2011: 1,037 arrests statewide)

– Also enhances penalties for driving while intoxicated and causing p g g
the death or serious injury to any child (ren) passenger under 16 
years of age.  Operators convicted of Aggravated Vehicular 
Assault (Class C Felony) and Aggravated Vehicular Homicide 
(Class B Felony) offenses are subject to state imprisonment up to 
15 and 25 years imprisonment, respectively. 
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Implementing “Leandra’s Law” in NYS

– Effective August 15, 2010
• Requires that persons convicted of having committed VTL 

Section 1192 Misdemeanor or Felony DWI Offenses, on or 
after the date of enactment, (November 18, 2009 ) and 
sentenced on or after August 15, 2010, be sentenced to a term 
of probation or conditional discharge, in addition to any 
sentence of imprisonment or payment of any fine imposed, and
have an Ignition Interlock Device installed in any motorhave an Ignition Interlock Device  installed in any motor 
vehicle they “own or operate” .  Law requires that the IID be 
installed for a minimum of six months.
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Metrics--DWI Arrests/Convictions in NYS 

• 2008 Data 
– 65,000 arrests for DWI (consistent over years) 
– 25,000 convictions (felony and misdemeanor)
– 20,000 violations (DWAI)

–25 000 convictions (felony and misdemeanor)25,000 convictions (felony and misdemeanor)
9,000 (40%) sentenced to probation 

16,000 (60%) other dispositions including prison, jail and large 
majority pay fine 
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National DWI Problem Indicators  

• Binge Drinking—Nearly one in four high school• Binge Drinking—Nearly one in four high school 
students and one in seven adults binge-drink 
according to the CDC Director Thomas Freidman

• 428,000 people who responded to two surveys 
used to compile the data said they had an average 
of eight (8) drinks during a binge drinking sessionof eight (8) drinks during a binge drinking session

• CDC found that 15% of adults or 33 million 
Americans binge-drink—a constant rate for 15 yrs
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Fatalities Leveled Off in NYS
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Implementing “Leandra’s Law” in NYS 

– New York State joins 9 other states as “first offender states”  j
requiring mandatory use of Ignition Interlock  Devices

– Alcohol Ignition Interlocks are a proven tool to effectively   
reduce impaired driving, protect the public and support long-term 
risk  reduction among drunk drivers—Numerous Studies   
including those by The Traffic Injury Research Foundation,       
February 2010

– Research indicates that offender behavior reverts when the IID is 
removed—longer periods of time for IID 

– Encourage Court ordered conditions for use of ignition interlock 
devices for longer periods of time
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Implementing “Leandra’s Law” in NYS 

• Statute requires OPCA to promulgate regulations andStatute requires OPCA to promulgate regulations and  
address “unaffordability”  (270-day timeframe)
Chapter 496 Section 5 
(a) The cost of installing  and  maintaining  the  ignition  interlock
device shall be borne by the person subject to such condition unless the
court  determines  such person is financially unable to afford such cost
whereupon such cost may be imposed pursuant to a payment plan or waived.
In the event of such waiver the cost of the device shall be borne inIn  the  event  of such waiver, the cost of the device shall be borne in
accordance with regulations issued under paragraph  (g)  of  subdivision
one  of  section eleven hundred ninety-three of this article or pursuant
to such other agreement as may be entered  into  for  provision  of  the device. 
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Implementing “Leandra’s Law” in NYS 

– Establish statewide workgroup
– Plan and conduct manufacturer roundtable
– Promulgate emergency regulations; formal rulemaking
– Request for Applications—open and continuous
– *Require county planning process/define stakeholders
– Develop statewide uniform templates/forms 

I l t t t id t i i f j di i t– Implement statewide training of judiciary, prosecutors 
and law enforcement

– Establish media campaign and press conference
– Select Agency with strong leadership
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Implementing “Leandra’s Law” in NYS 
Who are the statewide stakeholders?  Working Group?
– Governor Legislature JudiciaryGovernor, Legislature, Judiciary 
– Counties/Agencies—Probation, STOP-DWI, DDP, TASC, etc. 
– Prosecutors and Defense Counsel
– Law Enforcement-NYSP, Sheriffs, Police
– Statewide Associations—NYSAC, STOP-DWI Coordinators, 
– NYS Drinking Driver Programs, Traffic Safety Programs 
– State Agencies—Governor’s Counsel, DOH, DMV, OGS, OSC, 

OAG, OASAS, DCJS, Parole, DOCS, DOB
– ITSMR-Institute for Traffic Safety Management and Research
– Ignition Interlock Device Manufacturers
– Motor Vehicle Operators and the Public
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Implementing Leandra’s Law in NYS 

County Planning Process--regulations require counties toCounty Planning Process regulations require counties to 
submit implementation plans by June 15, 2010

• Define required local/county stakeholders in county plan application
• Designate monitoring agency for CD cases (default is probation)
• Acknowledge agreement with statewide regulations: monitoring agencies for 

CD cases to determine Class of Instrument; probation to determine Class and 
features;  and operators to select model and manufacturer of IID

• Procedure for equitable distribution of “waived” IID unitsocedu e o equ tab e d st but o o wa ved u ts
• Procedure for distribution of any available funding to support monitoring 
• Court notification to monitoring agencies within 5 business days
• Procedure for advanced notification of operators released from incarceration
• Procedure for monitors to report failed tasks/tests/lockouts to DA and Courts
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Implementing “Leandra’s Law” in NYS

• Request for Manufacturer Applications
Compliance with DPCA and Department of Health Regulations 

(DPCA regulations include IID Specifications)
Service 1-4 regions within NYS—regional approach attracts 

multiple vendors and new vendors, ensuring  a quality product 
and service at a competitive price (affordability)

Classify ignition interlock devices into 3 categories
Establish initial fee structure ceiling —competition drives pricingg p p g
Enter into multi-year (3-year) agreements with manufacturers
Obligate manufacturers to provide Court ordered “payment plans” 

or  IID’s to operators deemed unable to afford them —assume 
10% statewide “unaffordability” rate (not legal indigency)  
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Implementing “Leandra’s Law” in NYS

• Multiple Manufacturers to serve 25 000 offendersMultiple Manufacturers to serve 25,000 offenders
– NYS divided into four (4) regions (consistent with COPA regions) 

to ensure that the service is available in all localities. 
– Manufacturers are “qualified” to do business in New York State 

including 1,2, 3 or all 4 regions; must meet DPCA, DOH 
regulations and the 50-mile service requirement---this spurs 
competition 
Importantly State Regulations provide that Operators will shop– Importantly, State Regulations provide that Operators will shop 
manufacturer (model) but probation and monitoring agencies will 
determine the class of ignition interlock device and probation will 
determine class and features 
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Implementing “Leandra’s Law” in NYS 
IID’s are classified into three (3) distinct classes: 
CLASS I: This CLASS contains the following features: Meets all New York State 

DOH, NHTSA Regulations and Standards,  utilizes fuel cell technology, 
reporting capabilities,  capabilities for storage of data, programmable re-test 
sequences, data download, inspection and re-calibration service, and anti-
tampering and anti-circumvention features.

Class II: This CLASS has all the features of CLASS I and contains the following 
additional features: photographic positive identification capability (camera or 
biometric facial recognition.

Class III: This CLASS has all the features of CLASSES I and II and contains one or 
more of the following additional features: GPS location of vehicle capability,  
real time data reporting, infra-red or other low-light camera capability for night 
use, Infra-red sensor that detects heat and proximity to verify human breath,  
restricted drive time capabilities,  Internet Access for Real-Time Monitoring 
24/7, 911 Emergency Response, target tracking,  subject must be in photo to 
take test.
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Implementing “Leandra’s Law” in NYS 
DPCA Regulations require manufacturer IID specifications:
• IID set point of .025% BAC
• Start-Up Test: if failure--a Start-Up Retest within 5-15 minutes (continues)
• Start-Up Test: if successful--Initial Rolling Test within a random variable 

interval ranging from 5-15 mins.  If Rolling Test successful: subsequent Rolling 
Tests at random intervals not to exceed 30 mins.  If unsuccessful (failed or 
missed Rolling Test): Rolling Retest promptly within 1-3 minutes.  Failed or 
missed Rolling Retest causes vehicle horn to sound & and IID to emit high pitch 
shrill prompting operator to pull over and shut off vehicle.  

• IID lockout mode: one failed or missed “start-up retest”, one failed or missed oc out ode: o e a ed o ssed sta t up etest , o e a ed o ssed
“rolling retest” within one service period, or one missed service visit.  Operator 
must return to service center for data download and IID reset within 5 business 
days or the motor vehicle becomes inoperable (will not start)

• All events, including failed start-up tests, failed rolling tests are recorded and 
reported to monitors.  Lockout mode: monitors must report to DA and Court
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Implementing “Leandra’s Law” in NYS 

DPCA Regulations requirements for monitoring:
• Monitor shall receive court notification of order for IID within 5 business daysMonitor shall receive court notification of order for IID within 5 business days
• Installation/service provider shall install within 7 business days of request—

Operators required to have IID installed w/in 10 business days of Court Order
• Operator shall provide proof of installation within 3 business days to Court, 

County Probation Department and any designated monitor
• Operator shall submit to service visits within 30 calendar days.   For detachable 

handheld units, submit to 30-day visits, followed by 60-day visits
• **Monitor shall notify the appropriate court and district attorney, within 3 

b i d f f ll i 1) t f il t i t ll IDD 2) tbusiness days of following: 1) operator failure to install IDD, 2) operator 
has not complied with required service visit, 3) any report of alleged 
tampering or circumvention of IDD, or 4) any report of lockout mode, 
and/or any report of a failed test or retest where BAC is .05% or higher
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Implementing “Leandra’s Law” in NYS

• “Unaffordability” v. Indigency
OPCA develops statewide Financial Disclosure Report available at– OPCA develops statewide Financial Disclosure Report available at 
www.dpca.state.ny.us (English and Spanish Versions) 

– Operator /Applicant required to complete/submit 3 copies to court
– FDR Form captures offender’s income, assets and expenses, 

including monthly service for cell phone, cable/satellite television
– Progression of Cost Considerations: Affordability>>>> 

Payment Plan>>>> Waiver Considerations
– Manufacturers agreements with NYS-OPCA assume a maximum of 

10% statewide rate of “unaffordability” before renegotiation is 
considered—discuss experiences in other states
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Implementing “Leandra’s Law” in NYS

• Monitoring and Offender Accountability –Touchstone ofMonitoring and Offender Accountability Touchstone of 
Effective Ignition Interlock Programs --Harm Reduction

• Impact on Localities for Monitoring and Supervision
• OPCA applies to NYS Governor’s Traffic Safety Committee 

(GTSC) and receives $3 million in NHTSA funds 
• Start Date 10/1/10  
• NHTSA funds to be distributed to localities based on number 

of convictions where IID is ordered and installed 
• Grant term: 1, 2010-Sept. 30, 2011
• Federal Funds regarded as seed money and not sustaining
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Implementing “Leandra’s Law” in NYS

IID 2010 4th Quarter Statistics

Aug. 15, 2010 thru Dec. 31, 2010

# Orders 
Rec'd.

# IID Class Payment Ordered

County/Agency 0 1 2 3 Full Plan Waive

TOTALS 4,699 2,571 795 0 1,239 1,869 53 144

Reports Rec'd 83 55.8% 17.3% 0.0% 26.9% 90.5% 2.6% 7.0%

# Reports Expected 83 2,034 2,066

% Reports Rec'd 100.0% 43.3%
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Implementing “Leandra’s Law” in NYS

• Thank you.  Questions and Answers?
• Contact Information:

– Robert M. Maccarone
Deputy Commissioner and Director
NYS Division of Criminal Justice ServicesNYS Division of Criminal Justice Services
Office of Probation and Correctional Alternatives
(518) 485-7692
Robert.Maccarone@dcjs.state.ny.us


