Implementing the Child Passenger
Protection Act or “Leandra’s
Law” in New York State

NYS Sheriffs Association

13t Annual Road Patrol and Law Enforcement
Supervisors Training Conference

September 14, 2010
Gideon Putnam Hotel, Saratoga Springs

Robert M. Maccarone
Deputy Commissioner DCJS
and Director OPCA

Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

» Authority: November 18, 2009 —Governor David A.
Paterson signs Chapter 496 of the Laws of 2009 :

— Effective December 18, 2009

— New Class E Felony Offense-DWI with a Child passenger under
16 years of age is punishable by to 4 years in state prison (445
arrests as of August 30, 2010). Note “CIV” notation by police.

— Also enhances penalties for driving while intoxicated and causing
the death or serious injury to any child (ren) passenger under 16
years of age. Operators convicted of Aggravated Vehicular
Assault (Class C Felony) and Aggravated Vehicular Homicide
(Class B Felony) offenses are subject to state imprisonment up to
15 and 25 years imprisonment, respectively.
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— Section 5 of Chapter 496 of the Child Passenger Protection Act or
Leandra’s Law

 Effective August 15, 2010

» Requires that persons convicted of having committed VVTL Section
1192 Misdemeanor or Felony DWI Offenses, on or after the date of
enactment, (November 18, 2009 ) and sentenced on or after August
15, 2010, be sentenced to a term of probation or conditional
discharge, in addition to any sentence of imprisonment or payment of
any fine imposed, and have an Ignition Interlock Device installed in
any motor vehicle they “own or operate” . Law requires that the 11D
be installed for a minimum of six months.
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— New York State joins 9 other states as “first offender states”
requiring mandatory use of Ignition Interlock Devices

— Alcohol Ignition Interlocks are a proven tool to effectively
reduce impaired driving, protect the public and support long-term
risk reduction among drunk drivers--Study by The Traffic Injury
Research Foundation, February 2010

— Research indicates that offender behavior reverts when the 11D is
removed

- Court ordered conditions for use of ignition interlock devices for
longer periods of time
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Statute requires OPCA to promulgate regulations and
address “unaffordability” ---270 days timeframe

Chapter 496 Section 5

(a) The cost of installing and maintaining the ignition interlock
device shall be borne by the person subject to such condition unless the
court determines such person is financially unable to afford such cost
whereupon such cost may be imposed pursuant to a payment plan or waived.
In the event of such waiver, the cost of the device shall be borne in
accordance with regulations issued under paragraph (g) of subdivision
one of section eleven hundred ninety-three of this article or pursuant

to such other agreement as may be entered into for provision of the
device.
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Who are the stakeholders? Working Group?

— Governor, Legislature, Judiciary

— Counties/Agencies—Probation, STOP-DWI, DDP, TASC, etc.
— Prosecutors and Defense Counsel

— Law Enforcement-NYSP, Sheriffs, Police

— Statewide Associations—NYSAC, STOP-DWI Coordinators,
— NYS Drinking Driver Programs, Traffic Safety Programs

— State Agencies—Governor’s Counsel, DOH, DMV, OGS, OSC,
OAG, OASAS, DCJS, Parole, DOCS, DOB

— ITSMR-Institute for Traffic Safety Management and Research
— Ignition Interlock Device Manufacturers
— Motor Vehicle Operators and the Public
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» DPCA Promulgated Statewide Emergency Regulations

— DPCA promulgated Statewide Emergency Regulations on April
23, 2010 as Part 358 of 9 NYCRR; and again on July 21, 2010

— DPCA involved all state and local stakeholders in the development
and review of multiple drafts of the regulations.
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* What are the 9 essential components of implementation?
* Establish Workgroup (December 2010)
» Promulgate Emergency Regulations (April 23, 2010)
» Request for Applications by Manufacturers (May 12, 2010)
 Contract Development and Execution—(July 15, 2010)
e County Plans (Submission Deadline 6/15/10)
» Promulgate Statewide Forms (June 3, 2010) & Reports

* Statewide Training—NYPTI, Magistrates, Judicial Webinars,
Regional Law Enforcement Training

* Statewide Public Education and Media Campaign
« Strong Leadership & Commitment to Goal of Implementation
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» Request for Manufacturer Applications
— Manufacturers Roundtable Held March 8, 2010
— Request for Applications —Proposals Returnable May 12, 2020

» 6 manufacturers “qualified” to do business on and after August 15,
2010--Open & Continuous RFA thereafter (3 new Applications
pending)

» compliance with regulations (DPCA Part 358 of and DOH Part 59)

* intent to service 1-4 regions within N'YS—regional approach attracts
multiple vendors and new vendors, ensuring a quality product and
service at a competitive price (affordability)

« Set initial fee/charge structure ceiling —competition drives pricing

» **Qualified Manufacturers must provide Court ordered “payment plan”
or 11D’s to operators deemed unable to afford them —assume 10%
statewide “unaffordability” rate (not indigency)
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DPCA Regulations require manufacturer 11D specifications:
e |ID set point of .025% BAC
e Start-Up Test: if failure--a Start-Up Retest within 5-15 minutes (continues)

e Start-Up Test: if successful--Initial Rolling Test within a random variable
interval ranging from 5-15 mins. If Rolling Test successful: subsequent
Rolling Tests at random intervals not to exceed 30 mins. If unsuccessful
(failed or missed Rolling Test): Rolling Retest promptly within 1-3 minutes.
Failed or missed Rolling Retest causes vehicle horn to sound & and 11D to
emit high pitch shrill prompting operator to pull over and shut off vehicle.

» 11D lockout mode: one failed or missed “start-up retest”, one failed or missed
“rolling retest” within one service period, or one missed service visit.
Operator must return to service center for data download and 11D reset within
5 business days or the motor vehicle becomes inoperable (will not start)

e All events, including failed start-up tests, failed rolling tests are recorded and
reported to monitors. Lockout mode: monitors must report to DA and Court.
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County Planning Process--regulations require counties to
submit implementation plans by June 15, 2010

»  Designate monitoring agency for CD cases (default is probation)

* Acknowledge agreement with statewide regulations: monitoring agencies for
CD cases to determine Class of Instrument; probation to determine Class and
features; and operators to select model and manufacturer of 11D

e Procedure for equitable distribution of “waived” I1D units

e Procedure for distribution of any available funding to support monitoring

e Procedure for Court notification to monitoring agencies within 5 business
days

e Procedure for advanced notification of operators released from incarceration

e Procedure for monitors to report failed tasks/tests/lockouts to DA and Courts
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DPCA Regulations requirements for monitoring:

» Monitor shall receive court notification of order for 11D within 5 business days

« Installation/service provider shall install within 7 business days of request—
Operators required to have 11D installed w/in 10 business days of Court Order

» Operator shall provide proof of installation within 3 business days to Court,
County Probation Department and any designated monitor

»  Operator shall submit to service visits within 30 calendar days. For
detachable handheld units, submit to 30-day visits, followed by 60-day visits

« **Monitor shall notify the appropriate court and district attorney, within 3
business days of following: 1) operator failure to install IDD, 2) operator has
not complied with required service visit, 3) any report of alleged tampering or
circumvention of IDD, or 4) any report of lockout mode, and/or any report of a
failed test or retest where BAC is .05% or higher
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o Metrics--DWI Convictions in New York State

e 2008 Data
— 65,000 arrests for DWI
— 25,000 convictions (felony and misdemeanor)
— 20,000 violations (DWAI)

—25,000 convictions (felony and misdemeanor)
9,000 (40%) sentenced to probation

16,000 (60%) other dispositions including prison, jail and large
majority pay fine
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» Monitoring and Offender Accountability —Touchstone of
Effective Ignition Interlock Programs --Harm Reduction
 Impact on Localities for Monitoring and Supervision

» OPCA invited to submit statewide grant application for $3
million to the NYS Governor’s Traffic Safety Committee
(GTSC)—Start Date 10/1/10

« NHTSA funds to be distributed to counties and the City of
New York based on number of DWI convictions

» Grant term: 1, 2010-Sept. 30, 2011
 Federal Funds regarded as seed money and not sustaining
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* Multiple Manufacturers to serve 25,000 offenders

— NYS divided into four (4) regions (consistent with COPA regions)
to ensure that the service is available in all localities.

— Manufacturers may seek to be “qualified” to do business in 1,2, 3
or all 4 regions; must meet DPCA, DOH regulations and the 50-
mile service requirement---this spurs competition

— Importantly, State Regulations provide that Operators will shop
manufacturer (model) but probation and monitoring agencies will
determine the class of ignition interlock device and probation will
determine class and features
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11D classified into three (3) distinct classes:
e CLASS I: This CLASS contains the following features:

— Meets all New York State Department of Health and National
Highway Traffic Safety Administration Regulations and
Standards, Utilizes fuel cell technology,

» Reporting capabilities, Capabilities for storage of data, Programmable Re-Test
Sequences, Data download, inspection and re-calibration service, and

» Anti-tampering and anti-circumvention features.
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CLASS Il: This CLASS has all the features of CLASS | and contains the
following additional features:

Photographic positive identification capability (camera or biometric facial
recognition).

CLASS I1I: This CLASS has all the features of CLASSES | and Il and
contains one or more of the following additional features:

GPS location of vehicle capability, Real time data reporting, Infra-red or other
low-light camera capability for night use, Hum Tone Detection, Infra-red
sensor that detects heat and proximity to verify human breath, Keys enabling
service codes to be entered, Early recall system if a fuel cell fails-uses split cell
technology, Restricted drive time capabilities, Unlock code to minimize
towing due to lockouts, Voice instruction, Probation/Judicial Internet Access
for Real-Time Monitoring 24/7, 911 Emergency Response, target tracking,
subject must be in photo to take test.
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New York State
Office of Probation and Correctional Alternatives

IGNITION INTERLOCK DEVICE AVAILABILITY AS OF August 15, 2010
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Matching operator with Class of Ignition Interlock Device

« Distinguish first time convicted offender from repeat
offender and conditional discharges and probation cases

Consider 92-93% compliance
25,000 convictions>>>>9,000 probation cases

Utilizing all classes of instruments will lower cost to
operator, increase affordability and decrease need for
payment plans and consideration of waived costs

» Consider monitoring costs associated with real time
reporting and resources required for real time response
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» “Unaffordability” v. Indigency

— OPCA develops statewide Financial Disclosure Report available at
www.dpca.state.ny.us

— Operator /Applicant required to complete/submit 3 copies to court

— FDR Form captures offender’s income, assets and expenses,
including monthly service for cell phone, cable/satellite television

— Affordability>>>> Payment Plan>>>> Waiver Considerations

— **Manufacturers required to comply with Court authorized
payment plan or waiver. Manufacturers agreements with NYS-
OPCA assume a maximum of 10% statewide rate of
“unaffordability” before renegotiation is considered—discuss
experiences in other states

20

10



Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

* Issues for Counties—Payment Plans and Judicial Waivers
“unaffordability”

Cost will be borne by drunk drivers and not taxpayers and localities

Statute provides for “payment plans” judicially “waived” fees and
costs for 11D’s for operators determined by sentencing courts unable
to afford the cost. This is not “legal indigency”

OPCA will regularly monitor “unaffordability” determinations,
number and percent of waiver units ordered and provide
opportunity for manufacturers to adjust pricing

Use of statewide FDR is an important training issue
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Questions
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